Sandie Simply Says

October 6, 2009

Random Tuesday Thoughts – Recycling, Potty Training, and Petty Whining

Filed under: General — by Sandie @ 12:06 pm

One of the hardest adjustments we’ve had to get used to here is recycling. They recycle just about everything here. Everything. We are not good citizens of the earth. Before moving here, the only thing we recycled was aluminum cans. And that was only because Tony collected them for the extra pennies. Now, we recycle not only because it’s Italian law, but also out of necessity. Our non-recyclable trash is only picked up every other week. Wouldn’t be bad, except this is our trash bin:

We can easily fill that up in a day! So, we recycle. Plastic & cans go in one bin, glass in another, paper/cardboard in another, and foodwaste in yet another bin (I told you they recycle EVERYTHING here!).

On Friday, we saw Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. I haven’t read the book. Actually didn’t even know there WAS a book until I read MIHH’s review last Tuesday. I thought the movie was very cute. It held the attention of 2/3 of my kids (to be fair to Amber, we went to a 7 o’clock showing and she’s normally in bed by 8, so much of her inattentiveness was really tiredness). The theater was packed. We don’t get too many kid-friendly movies here, so when we do everyone comes out to see it.

We’ve started potty training Amber. Well, her old daycare REALLY started training her and the new one continued it. Last week, they suggested we let her try out panties for awhile because they thought she might be ready for them. I wasn’t ready for them (it’s not that I enjoy changing diapers, we just had too much going on that weekend to bother with panties), so we kept her in the diapers for a bit longer. Saturday morning, she put a pair of her sister’s panties on. We figured we’d let her keep them on and see how she does. She was about 50/50 on Saturday…right up until she pooped in her panties while I was grocery shopping and Tony was home with her. He got after her and put her back in a diaper. Sunday morning, she did NOT want to put panties back on, but Tony got them on her anyway. After a few accidents in the morning, she started going to the potty on her own. She managed to stay clean and dry all afternoon. Monday and today, she went to daycare in panties. Other than wearing a diaper at naps, she’s stayed dry both days. Keep your fingers crossed…I think we’re at the beginning of the end of our diapering careers!

My internet connection sucks. I’ll be in the middle of performing some task and we’ll lose the connection. At first, I thought it was just me. Then I talked with others and they have the same issue. It’s not so bad, except it always seems to cut off when I’m in the middle of something important.

Our stuff isn’t here yet. It was supposed to be here yesterday, at the latest. Today, they started a “tracer” on it and we should know where it is by noon tomorrow. I swear there is some force working against us here. Of all the people I’ve met since I’ve got here, I’m the only one who’s stuff didn’t make it BEFORE the required delivery date…including at least one family that moved from the same base. Our neighbors, who got here AFTER we did, had their stuff delivered today. I’m green with envy and am tempted to steal one of their couches.

I feel like my last two thoughts were nothing but petty whines.  I need to look at the bright side of things.  Like, while I don’t have *my* furniture, I do have loaner furniture from the base (crappy as it may be, at least we’re not sitting on the floor!).

That’s all the randomness I can muster today. For more randomness, visit Keely at http://www.theunmom.com.

4 Comments »

  1. Ugh, sorry your stuff isn’t there yet. That really stinks. On a happier note, WOO HOO on the potty training! We keep starting and then giving up, I hate it. Your intermittent connection would drive me nuts.

    Comment by Casey — October 6, 2009 @ 6:41 pm |Reply

  2. I hope you getyour stuff soon, YAY! for panties! The recycling is like that in some parts of Canada too. The island is a hard visit,I’m used to chucking whatever. Here we’vegot plastic,paper and junk, and refunds on the bottles and cans.

    Comment by kyooty — October 6, 2009 @ 9:09 pm |Reply

  3. I am soooo jealous of your potty training success right now. We had undies on for fifteen minutes today before my dear boy made a puddle. I forget how much fun this stage can be. I’m happy for you though…only slightly green with envy.

    I hope you get your couch soon, before you start stealing from the neighbors. 😉

    Comment by mrsbear0309 — October 6, 2009 @ 10:28 pm |Reply

  4. Girl … I’d have to move on back if I didn’t have stable internet. But I’m glad you’re up and running a little bit. Miss you!

    Comment by atiredwife — October 19, 2009 @ 8:37 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

