Sandie Simply Says

August 11, 2009

Random Tuesday Thoughts: Moving Day (for real this time!)

Filed under: General — by Sandie @ 12:50 pm

Yep, that’s right. The packers are here today. Most of our stuff has made its way into a box of some sort. Tomorrow, they’ll come pick everything up and it’ll start it’s journey to Italy. Thursday and Friday they’ll come get everything that we’ll be storing for the next 3 years. There’s no turning back now!

I’ve been sitting all morning watching the packers do their thing. I feel a little guilty just watching them, but then I figure that’s what they’re paid to do, right? Plus, I’ve been up late every night the past couple days trying to get everything ready for their arrival. Oh and we bought them lunch. So the guilt subsides (well that and knowing that I’ll be the one doing the hard work on the other end: unpacking).

There’s a show on the History Channel called Life After People. Tony loves this show. I find it kinda morbid. We watched one this morning that was about what would happen to amusement parks, Las Vegas, and Atlantic City. The do life-like computer generated images so you can see what some scientist thinks it will look like. It was strange seeing all the lights of Vegas covered in dust. Perhaps the neatest thing was watching the Stratosphere Tower topple.

Speaking of shows Tony loves, I think reality TV has really gone too far. It’s like they find a topic, any topic and decide to make a show about it. Some of Tony’s finds: Pawn Stars (all about a guy who owns a pawn shop), Operation Repo (all about a crew riding around doing reposessions), and a couple of shows about various types of cops (like a show all about beach cops…they patrol around arresting people for acting like idiots on the beach). One thing is for certain watching these shows: we definitely do NOT have a shortage of village idiots in this country. And apparently, they make good TV.

Alyssa and Angelina’s last day of school in Georgia is Friday. I signed the withdrawal paperwork yesterday. Then I cried. I’m going to miss this school. Everyone there has been wonderful. I’m sure the school will be nice over there, but I think I’ll always have a special place in my heart for the school here.

Well, the packers are done and Tony wants his computer back. So, I guess I’m done randomizing for the day. Now, head over to keely’s place and get your fill of randomness today.

2 Comments »

  1. Aww, sorry you cried when you took the girls out of school. I know these next few months are going to be hard for you but once you find your groove, I hope you love it there. Plus, your freezer will ALWAYS be stocked with Italian Ice. Cause it’s ice from Italy, you see. Hardy har har. Ok, shutting up now.

    Comment by halfasgoodasyou — August 12, 2009 @ 7:13 pm |Reply

  2. I watched a couple of episodes of that Life After People show and just found it terribly redundant. 10 years after people – stuff falls apart, 20 years after people – stuff deteriorates further and falls apart, 100 years after people – things turn to dust. Ugh.

    I wish you the best of luck during your move. I’ve only ever moved across town, so I can’t even begin to fathom a cross continent move. Keep us posted. In the meantime, I’ll brush up on my Italian. 😉

    Comment by mrsbear0309 — August 13, 2009 @ 10:52 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

