Sandie Simply Says

May 26, 2009

It’s a Monday-Tuesday!

Filed under: General — by Sandie @ 9:10 pm

randomtuesday

I like long weekends. I like them even more when I get four days off instead of just four. I hate going back to work after the long weekend though. Seems like I started my day behind and never caught up. At least tomorrow is Wednesday and we’re half way to the next weekend!

We went to Hilton Head this weekend. It was our first time there. I find myself wishing we hadn’t waited so long to go. I’m fairly certain we would have spent many more weekends there. I wish I would have planned better this time. We had a great time though!

I can’t believe this is the third thing I thought of and not the first…we accepted an offer on our house over the weekend! It’s a little less than our asking price, but still within the range of what we were hoping to get. Now we just have to make it through the next 14 days (they have 10 days to get any inspections done and 14 to get their financing finalized). If all goes well, we’ll close on 30 Jun. I’m still in a bit of shock…I figured we’d sell, just didn’t think it’s happen in 2 weeks! Guess all our hard work paid off! Now comes the really hard work: finding a place to live for 2 months, moving there, and then getting ready to move again!

Alyssa has a heart of gold when it comes to animals. We watched Hotel for Dogs at the hotel. While we were watching it, she asked me what was so bad about the pound. I had to explain to her that some pounds will kill animals if they can’t find a new home for them. A few hours later, she started crying, out of the blue. Tony asked her what was wrong and she said she was thinking about all the animals in the pound. I only wish she could drum up that kind of empathy for her sisters!

Angelina “graduated” from pre-K last Tuesday. She’ll be starting kindergarten next year. I’m not sure I’m ready to have TWO kids in school. And I already feel for her future kindergarten teacher. I’m sure I’ll be getting multiple phone calls from the school!

I feel even more sorry for the poor first grade teacher who got stuck with our next door neighbor’s kid. Tony helped our neighbor change a car battery last week and got quite an earful about how they had a ton of problems with the kid’s teacher. I think the problem was more with the parents and the kid. The teacher tried all year to get them to come in for a conference, but the dad works 30 miles away and the mom flat-out refused to go to the school (the school is less than 2 miles from the house). The dad finally went to the school after the teacher commented on their refusal to meet with her…but not to meet with the teacher, instead he raised heck with the principal because he felt disrespected. The fact is, their kid is a brat. He listens to no one and has zero respect for adults. The other day he was repeatedly screaming “Shut up!” to his mom in the driveway. No way in freaking hell one of my kids would get away with screaming shut up at me in my own freaking driveway. No way. And if he speaks to his mom that way, I can only imagine the problems his teacher is having!

This random post was brought to you by Keely over at The Unmom. Want more? click on the button above and check her out!

3 Comments »

  1. Congrats on the house sale! Woohoo, what a turnaround. Better that is sold fast than not at real estate around here is still in the crapper. I don’t think a single house in our neighborhood has sold in 2009. My husband likes to check…

    Neighbor kids sounds like a little jerk, but really, the parents sound…hmmm…like real winners. 😦

    Comment by mrsbear0309 — May 27, 2009 @ 9:46 am |Reply

  2. Wow, houses NEVER sell that quickly around here, congrats! Moving twice is going to stink but at least you have the pressure of the house sale off of your mind and you can think forward to your next adventure.

    Two kids in school sounds lovely right about now. Plus, no more daycare costs!

    Your neighbors and their kid sound like jerks.

    Comment by Casey — May 27, 2009 @ 7:44 pm |Reply

    • I wish it meant no more daycare for me! Unfortunately, we’ll still need before and after care…school is from 8:30 to 3:30 and we work 7-4. You’d think we’d pay a lot less per week, but we only save about $40. *SIGH*

      Comment by Sandie — May 27, 2009 @ 9:33 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

