Sandie Simply Says

March 14, 2009

Just Call Me Mrs. Clean!

Filed under: General — by Sandie @ 8:01 pm

I hit a bit of a cleaning frenzy today. Ok, it wasn’t really a frenzy…more like a focused cleaning job. I cleaned my washing machine today. We’ve owned this machine for almost 8 years and it’s never been cleaned. I figure you put soap in it every time you wash clothes, that should do it right? I’m sure there is some domestic goddess out there who’s going to tell me they clean their washing machine, inside and out, every week because the laundry detergent really doesn’t cut it. My machine HAS had an occasional wipe-down, it just never occurred to me that it needed more than that. Until today.

The whole thing started out innocently enough. I was transferring clothes from the washer to the dryer. I don’t know if the light hit it just right today or what, but I noticed a nice black stripe around the top of the agitator. I thought, “Wow, that’s gross! Let me clean that!” So, I grabbed my Mr. Clean Magic Sponge and started cleaning. That did the trick!

Then I glanced into the fabric softener cup. That was equally as gross (this I HAD noticed before but it never bothered me because we use a Downy ball instead of the cup and I figured the clothes never touched it). I was able to pull it out and was greeted with more grossness…apparently water DOES get under there because it was covered in mold! Ew! Ew! Ew! In I go with my Mr. Clean Magic Sponge and again it does the trick!

Then I looked at the lid. Again, another area that the clothes don’t really get near so we’d kinda let it get to the point of grossness too. There was a thick layer of dust back there. This one required more than my Mr. Clean Magic Eraser. This time I had to grab the screwdriver. Yep, that’s right, the screwdriver. I performed some minor surgery and removed the lid so I could effectively get at that dust. With the lid off, I grabbed my trusty Mr. Clean Magic Eraser and went to town.

Once I got the lid back in place, I glanced at the knobs. They’ve actually been cleaned in the past, so they didn’t look too bad. Since I was cleaning stuff anyway, I yanked all the knobs off and cleaned them too!

The result: I have a squeaky clean washing machine now! It almost looks brand new again.

Next stop: the refrigerator!!!

Disclaimer: My last sentence was a joke. I DO and HAVE cleaned my fridge in the last 8 years, more than once. I promise! However, it DOES need to be cleaned right now. Somebody spilled something in it and it’s pooled at the bottom of the fridge, I just haven’t had the chance to pull everything out and clean it. I might do that tomorrow.

2 Comments »

  1. You’re supposed to clean the washing machine? lol. I don’t suppose you’re for hire…;)

    Comment by mrsbear — March 15, 2009 @ 9:17 pm |Reply

  2. My washing machine is disgusting, I just noticed it this week. I may have to follow your lead on that one.

    I hate when liquids settle in the bottom of the fridge and you have to take the drawers out to get to it. Ugh.

    Comment by Casey — March 15, 2009 @ 10:01 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

