Sandie Simply Says

January 19, 2009

HASAY Update: Week 3…OK, maybe Hannah Montana doesn’t rock

Filed under: General,HAYSAY,Weight Loss — by Sandie @ 10:12 am

I had a great HASAY week! I journalled every day and even managed to cut back on my Diet Coke intake. By Friday, I was down 1.6 pounds. Yay me, I rock!

And then came the Hannah Montanta sleepover. I started out doing OK. I mean, I brought a freaking veggie tray! Somewhere around 8pm I lost my resolve. I was exhausted and succumbed to the pizza. And the chocolate. Did I mention we had chocolate? I had some that couldn’t fit in the piñata, so I brought the extras. Who am I kidding, I had a lot of candy left over. Well, I had a lot of candy left over. And the Diet Coke was free-flowing. I needed something to keep my energy level up!

I woke up the next morning determined I wasn’t going to let one night ruin my whole week. I was adamant I wasn’t taking any of the leftover pizza home (we had 4 pizzas left!). How two pizzas, an entire order cheesesticks, and cupcakes made it into my car, I’ll never know. But just because I brought them home doesn’t mean I need to eat them, right? Wrong. I was too exhausted to do anything but heat up some pizza so that’s what I had for lunch and dinner.

But Sunday was a new day, right? Wrong again. The Mexican buffet and Chinese buffet seemed to call out my name. So we went. We hit one for lunch and the other for dinner.

But this is a new week. I’m back to journalling again.

Weight change this week: -.2
Total weight loss: -3

I pretty much already recapped my goals from last week. I made it to the gym twice last week (I skipped it on Friday to do some last minute preparations for the sleepover). I did remember to take my vitamin every day!

Goals for this week will be the same as last week:

  • Journal every day
  • Get to the gym 3 times this week
  • Drink no more than 32 oz of Diet Coke a day
  • Take a multivitamin every day
  • I mentioned above that I weighed myself on Friday. I actually weight myself every morning. Generally, this is not recommended while you are trying to lose weight. There are so many factors that play into what you weigh on any individual day that it’s difficult to determine what the overall result will be for the week. Also, if we see a gain, we tend to beat ourselves up. If we see a loss, we give ourselves permission to cheat “just a little.” I generally am able to treat that number on the scale realistically and use it mainly as a guide for what I need to do that day. So, while I don’t usually recommend it for everyone, it works for me.

    3 Comments »

    1. Bad pizza, chocolate, and breadsticks. How could they follow you home. They should be ashamed of themselves for taunting you.

      Comment by Laufa — January 19, 2009 @ 10:23 am |Reply

    2. If I had to go through a Hannah Montana sleepover, I would have had one of those king size Hershey bars, a bag of Cheetos, and three Bacardi and diet Pepsi’s. You did it and still managed to lose weight. Congrats!

      Comment by Debbie — January 19, 2009 @ 8:04 pm |Reply

    3. After you listed all of the junk that you ate, I was expecting a five pound gain… nice work on losing instead! This week will be better foodwise since you won’t be tempted by tween foods. Great work on the exercise, go HASAY!

      Comment by halfasgoodasyou — January 19, 2009 @ 8:19 pm |Reply


    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    Leave a Reply

        Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

