Sandie Simply Says

December 17, 2008

Thirty minutes

Filed under: General — by Sandie @ 9:53 pm

What can you do for thirty minutes?  Watch a TV sitcom.  Flip through a People magazine.  Bake a cake or maybe some cookies.  Read some blogs (and maybe even work up the nerve to comment on a few).  Or my personal favorite…listen to your toddler scream because she doesn’t want to go to sleep.

And the worst party is listening to the “Mommy! Mommy! Mommy!” coming from her and feeling like a complete failure as a mother because you’re letting her down by not rescuing her from the depths of her horrible crib.

I knew this was coming.  She was sick for a little over a week, so we were letting her fall asleep on the couch.  We’d then move her to our bed to keep her close.  I tried a couple times to put her to sleep in her crib, but Daddy would always rescue her (he was tinkering in the garage tonight or she would have been rescued by him early on).

She’s been feeling better now, so I decided tonight was the night she started sleeping in her crib again.  I waited an hour after her bedtime to make sure she was sufficiently tired.  I carried her to her crib, kissed her and laid her down.  I practically ran from the room, nearly killing myself on the way, only to be greated by blissful silence.  Yahooo!!  I gave myself a quick high-five.  I did it!

I quickly learned she was merely taking several deep breaths to gear up for the screamfest that was coming.

And she screamed for 30 minutes.  And almost as quickly as it started, it stopped.  Finally, she is sleeping soundly!

Now, if I could only get Angelina to sleep!  She’s been playing the How-Many-Thing-Can-I-Think-Of-To-Get-Out-Of-Going-To-Sleep game for almost an hour.  She’s on her fifth trip to the bathroom.  I know she doesn’t really need to go, but at the same time she’s not 100% nighttime potty trained, so I can’t take the chance.

2 Comments »

  1. Ugh, I feel your pain. Cry it out is the most useful and grueling tool there is. Over the past two weeks we’ve been tending to my kid’s nightly wakings since his ears were hurting so badly. Once he’s recovered from his surgery, we’re back to CIO. Good luck getting some sleep!

    Comment by halfasgoodasyou — December 19, 2008 @ 12:05 am |Reply

  2. Some mothers never manage to do this. And as a result, they have 12 year olds who STILL won’t sleep in their own rooms and are afraid to spend the night away from home.

    Believe me, I know this from first hand experience. My step daughter was 13 when she FINALLY slept in her own room, without going through the whole rigamarole of having to have the door open, all the lights on and her father within view.

    Comment by Ginger — December 22, 2008 @ 7:58 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

